Connecting the Museum and the Library

The Frick Art Reference Library provides public access to world-class materials and programs focused on the study of fine and decorative arts. It is renowned for its unique contributions to the art, library, and museum fields, ever since its founding in 1920. The home of the library is the landmarked building at 10 East 71st Street designed by John Russell Pope, the noted architect responsible for the 1935 transformation of the private Frick residence into a public museum.

The library is known for its vast holdings of exhibition and auction catalogs, its extensive Photoarchive, and a growing collection of e-books and archived websites. Notably, twenty-five percent of its collections cannot be found at any other institution. The library’s resources continue to be available during our renovation project by appointment at Frick Madison or through our interlibrary loan and document delivery services.

To foster the intersection of research and education at the Frick, the plan, for the first time, creates a public passageway between the museum and library buildings that will allow visitors to seamlessly experience the collective resources of the Frick.

The plan also includes improved digitization, conservation, and archival facilities, enhancing these vital amenities to better support the collections and services of the library.

« Previous Page | Next Page »